Sunday of Spring Break

detail of John Carroll’s grave

So I’m planning a day trip to Hugo, Oklahoma.  Brad Cushman told me about it a year ago. Historically Hugo was a winter stopping point for traveling circuses, such as Kelly-Miller. It’s know as Circus City, USA. There is a cemetery of circus folk at Mt. Olivet Cemetery’s designated Showmen’s Rest.You can read more about the Cemetery on Roadside America.com.

I’m interested to find other things besides just graves. There is a restaurant called Angie’s Circus City Diner that I’ve read has wonderful food and decorum. Apparently there are supposed to be different cars and buggies leftover in fields around the city. I hope to get a whole bunch of photos, maybe a rubbing or two while I’m there. I haven’t found anything about a specific museum, unfortunately, but I hope the city is like a museum. I wonder what other side attractions we’ll see on the way, non-circus related.

Today I’m going to Pinnacle Mt. to walk around and just be outside in the sunlight. Get some well-needed exercise from the winter experience. Come home and take some photos of some more of my jewelry I’ve been playing with. Mainly I just need to have some free time,  at least until 3:00 pm. I’m planning to go to the A.C.A.C. to participate in the Bee Hive Collective workshop.

Leave a Reply

