Arrival at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

Rainbow Leaving Little Rock

Great start to the morning for my 9 hour drive. I saw a rainbow while leaving Little Rock, AR. I woke up at 6am to be on the road by 7am. Luckily, I arrived ahead of schedule at Gatlinburg, TN.

Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts is a “summer arts camp” located in the Smokey Mountains. It offers programs in metals, ceramics, fiber, printmaking, photography, and so much more. They have a fantastic library and an interesting selection in their galley. It’s a great way to meet people in the fields and to learn.

Glad to be here. Excited to see what this 6 week trip is going to show me. I have a studio assistantship here. I am taking two courses. One with Jill Baker Gower and the next with Amy Tavern. I also get to run to Penland for 2 weeks during this time.


I have a little corner in the red barn housing. I already miss my fiancé, of course! It’s going to be hard to sleep….. But I am looking forward to this time to explore my craft and further develop my artistic ideas.

Leave a Reply

